facebook pixel

Committee: University Environmental Safety and Sustainability


Twelve members to include at least one representative from biology, physics, chemistry, optometry and one at large faculty member, the university safety officer, university risk manager, Assistant Vice President of Capital Projects & Planning, and the Assistant Director of Physical Plant (BA Campus). Deans of the College of Science and Health Professions and College of Optometry serve as non-voting ex officio members. Note: the at-large faculty position is rotated among CBT, COE, and CLA annually.


This committee is an advisory body to the Provost/Vice President for Academic Affairs (VPAA) regarding courses which may involve bio-hazards or other safety concerns. This committee, at the request of the VPAA, reviews laboratory safety policies and makes recommendations concerning bio-hazards and safety. The committee also advises the VPAA, as requested on matters concerning proposals for external funds involving bio-hazardous materials and students in a laboratory setting


At least once each semester and as called by the chair. Minutes are sent to the Deans of the College of Science and Health Professions and Oklahoma College of Optometry and the Provost/Vice President for Academic Affairs.

2021-2022 Committee Members

Mr. Jonathan Asbill
Asst. VP Capital Projects & Planning

Mr. James Bell
University Risk Manager

Dr. Jody Buckholtz

Dr. James Hall
At Large Faculty

Dr. Pamela Hathorn, ex officio

Dr. Spencer Johnson

Mr. Dennis Moore
University Safety Officer

Dr. Douglas Penisten, ex officio
Dean, Optometry

Dr. Deborah Petrik

Ms. Julia Rogers
Asst. Director Physical Plant (BA)

Dr. Sallie Ruskoski 
Occupational Therapy

Dr. Weijia Zhu