Committee: Teacher Education Council


The membership of the Teacher Education Council includes the following: The Dean of the College of Education who serves as chair person; Associate / Assistant Deans for the College of Education, one representative from each undergraduate and graduate educator preparation program, Director of Clinical Education, Teacher Certification Coordinator; one undergraduate student majoring in a teacher education area; one graduate student majoring in an educator preparation area; one public school administrator, and one public school teacher.


The committee provides oversight, guidance, and direction for the university’s educator preparation programs and ensures that all programs comply with teacher certification standards and state and national standards for accreditation. The committee functions as an avenue for communication of new requirements and policies in teacher education. The committee approves all program changes for teacher education programs prior to being submitted to the Curriculum and Educational Policy Committee. The committee reports to the Vice President for Academic Affairs.


The committee meets in August, January and April of each year and at other meetings that are called by the chair as needed. Minutes are maintained in the College of Education and sent to the deans of each college and the Office of Academic Affairs.

Committee Members

Membership includes one representative from each teacher education program and other education partners.

Other Members