facebook pixel

Committee: General Education


15-20 members representing various general education disciplines and the university library, committee chair, non-voting ex officio members, and one student member selected by the Northeastern Student Government Association.


The general education committee oversees the General Education curriculum at NSU, providing advice and suggesting changes as needed through the review of proposed and existing courses. This committee, along with the Student Learning and Assessment Committee, reviews assessment data and makes recommendations regarding assessment of the General Education curriculum. The committee also reviews new teaching structures including team or interdisciplinary teaching. This committee reports to the Provost/Vice President for Academic Affairs.


The committee meets approximately every month as called by the chair. Minutes are sent to the Provost/Vice President for Academic Affairs.

2021-2022 Committee Members

Dr. Beth Bowin
General Ed Faculty Rep

Ms. Julia Carlo 
Exec. Director University Advising Center

Abigayle Carson
NSGA Representative

Ms. Catherine Davenport

Dr. Pamela Fly, ex officio
Associate Vice President, Academic Affairs

Dr. Sanchari Ghosh
CBT, Accounting & Finance

Mr. Richard Hoenes, ex officio
Assistant Director, Institutional Effectiveness

Dr. Maureen Johnson
CLA, Language & Literacy

Ms. Janet Kelley, ex officio

Dr. MooSong Kim
COE, Health & Kinesiology

Dr. Farina King
CLA, History

Dr. Darryl Linde
GWCSHP, Mathematics & Computer Science

Dr. Michael Morgan
GWCSHP, Natural Sciences, Physical Science

Ms. Elaina Ross
CLA, Communication & Media Studies

Ms. Amber Whisenhunt
CBT, Information Systems & Technology