facebook pixel

Committee: First Year Experience


Associate Director of Student Transition and the Executive Director of University Advising will co-chair.  Membership will be comprised of UNIV 1003 coordinator and two UNIV 1003 faculty members, Common Read committee chair, SOAR and RBC coordinators, Director of Admissions and Recruitment, Coordinator of Outreach and Prevention, University Advising academic advisor, a representative from each undergraduate college, a representative from Housing and Residence Life, a representative from Institutional Effectiveness and three student representatives. 


The First Year Experience committee fosters the development and implementation of a coherent and high-quality experience for all first-year students at NSU. Through the regular review of existing programs and innovation of new initiatives, this group supports the transition, engagement, growth, and retention of students from admission to the sophomore year.

Specific committee functions:

  • fosters collaboration, communication, and integration between departments
  • collects/synthesizes/reports assessment and retention of first year students
  • recommends changes and improvements to existing programs
  • proposes the development of new initiatives


Meetings will be held as called by the co-chairs.  Minutes will be sent to the Vice President of Student Affairs and the Vice President for Academic Affairs.

2021-2022 Committee Members

Ms. Julia Carlo, co-chair
Executive Director of University Advising

Ms. Kendra Haggard, co-chair
Associate Director Student Transition & Common Read Chair

Ms. Whitney Arbaugh
Housing and Residence Life

Ms. Sara Barnett
University Strategies Faculty

Evanne Biby
Student Representative

Ms. Lauren Cole
Coordinator of Student Transition

Ms. Sarah Diaz
Instructor/General Library

Ms. Amanda Lamberson
CLA Representative

Dr.  Brandon Miller
Director of Admissions and Recruitment

Ms. Ashley Palmer
Coordinator of Student Organizations and Major Events

Dr. Spence Pilcher
GWCSHP Representative

Dr. Julie Sawyer
Institutional Effectiveness

Mr. Brian Searcy
Academic Advisor

Dayren Seegren
Student Representative

Ms. Sara Swarer
Coordinator of Outreach and Prevention

Dr. Carla Swearingen
University Strategies Coordinator

Mr. Kin Thompson
CBT Representative

Chelbie Turtle
Student Representative

Dr. Mary Waters-Bilbo
COE Representative