facebook pixel

Committee: Faculty Research



Twelve (12) members and the committee chair. The chair is appointed by the Provost/Vice President for Academic Affairs. Members are appointed for three-year terms with one third of the membership appointed each year. Each academic college is represented by at least one member.
The remaining positions are filled with representatives from among the library or the colleges. Two additional members are selected by the Faculty Council each year. One person from the Office of Research and Sponsored Programs and the Dean of the Graduate Studies serve as voting ex officio.


This committee encourages and recommends funding for faculty research activity compatible with and supportive of quality teaching; encourages student involvement in research projects through collaboration with faculty; encourages faculty research or scholarly activity that contributes to or expands knowledge in the faculty member’s discipline; acts as an advocate for faculty research; cooperates with the Office of Research and Sponsored Programs in promoting research interest
and providing grantsmanship training; investigates mechanisms through which university research expertise could be utilized in assisting communities and organizations in Northeastern Oklahoma; and disseminates information on the research conducted by NSU faculty. This committee reports to the Provost / Vice President for Academic Affairs.


The committee meets three to four (3-4) times per year or as called by chair. Minutes are sent to the Provost/Vice President for Academic Affairs.