facebook pixel

Committee: Developmental Education


Faculty members who teach developmental courses (0-level), department chairs, NSU Registrar, and representatives from Student Affairs and the University Advising Center. The committee selects a chair from among its members at its first meeting and reports that to Academic Affairs.  The Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs and the Executive Director of Institutional Effectiveness will be non-voting, ex officio members.


This committee reviews NSU’s developmental course offerings and support systems. It recommends improvements to enhance student success and retention. The committee reports to the Provost/Vice President for Academic Affairs.


This committee meets at least once per semester. Meeting notes are sent to the Office of Academic Affairs.

2021-2022 Committee Members

Ms. Sharon Clevenger Baldridge
COLA, Lang. & Lit. (Developmental Reading)

Dr. Julia Carlo
Exec. Director, University Advising Center

Dr. Christopher Flavin
COLA, Lang. & Lit. Chair

Dr. Pamela Fly, ex officio
Assoc. VP for Academic Affairs

Ms. Joshua Groomer
University Advising Center Representative

Ms. Janet Kelley

Mr. Karl Kruczek
GWCSHP, Math. & Computer Science (Developmental Math)

Dr. Kelly Jo Larsen
Asst. VP for Enrollment Management

Dr. Darryl Linde
GWCSHP, Math. & Computer Science Chair

Ms. Sara Swaim
COLA, Lang. & Lit. (Developmental Writing)

Dr. Julia Sawyer, ex officio
Exec. Director, Institutional Effectiveness