News Story

NSU Presents 2003 Academic Achievement Awards at 35th Annual Honors Assembly

TAHLEQUAH – Northeastern State University recently hosted the thirty-fifth annual Honors Assembly. There, more than 260 awards were presented to deserving students in several categories including the Academic Achievement Awards - Undergraduate and Graduate.

Academic Achievement Award - Undergraduate. One student each is selected in each undergraduate degree granting discipline for the Academic Achievement Award. Each recipient must have completed two full semesters and have a grade-point average of at least 3.50 in the given academic discipline.

The following individuals were selected as recipients for the 2003 Academic Achievement Award - Undergraduate.

J.D. Anders (Speech Education) - Stigler
Kristi Bippus (Mass Communications-Journalism) - Owasso
Jamie Campbell (Theatre) - Tahlequah
Susanne Dickinson (Music Education-Vocal) - Tahlequah
Matt Eaton (Mass Communications-Advertising) - Tulsa
Jeannie Graham (Fine Arts) - Tulsa
Emily Havens (Applied Music) - Tahlequah
Dena Holmes (Speech-Communication) - Tahlequah
Holly Jackson (Music Business) - Tulsa
Kristin Johnston (English Education) - Claremore
Sarah LaBounty (English) - Tahlequah
Mindy Madewell (Mass Communication Education) - Warner
April Quinn (Music-Instrumental) - Pocola
Bethany Ritter (Mass Communication-Public Relations) - Stilwell
Crystal Robertson (Art-Graphic Design) - Heavener
Howard Scantlin (Art Education) - Glenpool
Jill Smith Anders (Speech Education) - Oklahoma City
Elisha Thach (Spanish Education) - Tulsa

Angela Amos (Family and Consumer Sciences Education) - Colcord
Ramona Bannick (Technology) - Fort Gibson
Cherie Davis (Safety Management) - Gore
Jennifer Eckert (Business Administration) - Tahlequah
Jennifer Haynes (Management) - Miami
Jamie Henson (Environmental Management) - Council Hill
Haylee Jackson (Management Information Systems) - Colcord
Matthew R. Jones (Telecommunications Management) - Stillwater
Kevin Kirk (Industrial Operations Management) - Stigler
Stacy Little (Finance) - Ada
Starla McManus (Accounting) - Tahlequah
Maja M Nesic (Family and Consumer Sciences) - Tahlequah
Jill Smith (International Business) - Tulsa

Joshua Daily (Health and Human Performance) - Locust Grove
Emily Freise (Speech Language Pathology) - na
Rita L. Gibson (Special Education) - Sallisaw
Amanda Ranier (Elementary Education) - Bartlesville
Amanda Roberson (Health and Physical Education) - Tahlequah
Brandy Senters (Early Childhood Education) - Tahlequah

Amanda Bennett (Science Education-Biology Emphasis) - Wagoner
Kelly Blehm (Chemistry) - Tulsa
Melanie Childress (Medical Technology) - Haskell
Zachary Cole (Physics) - Tahlequah
Robie Girdner (Computer Science) - Tahlequah
Samantha Huff (Mathematics Education) - Sallisaw
Lora Lindley (Biology-Cellular Emphasis) - Muskogee
Rebecca M. Morris (Nursing) - Muskogee
Jimmy Shaw (Engineering Physics) - McAlester
Lagenna Williams (Biology-Organismic Emphasis) - Westville
Amanda Zellner (Mathematics) - Tahlequah
Elaine Zoltner (Biology-Fisheries and Wildlife) - Denton, TX

Rebecca Dobbins (Doctor of Optometry) - Pryor
Angie Pruitt (Vision Science) - Muskogee

Chad Armstrong (Native American Studies) - Tahlequah
Rachel Barnett (Geography) - Kansas
Kay Bassett (Social Work) - Broken Arrow
Robert Brenneman (General Psychology) - Muskogee
Amanda Burnett (History) - Tahlequah
Lisa Cragar (Developmental Psychology) - Tahlequah
Warren Glad (History Education) - Checotah
Harvey Grauberger (Criminal Justice-Paralegal Studies) - Tahlequah
Stephanie Ivy (Developmental Psychology) - Tahlequah
Melanie Lewis (Health Care Administration-Gerontology) - Vian
Misty Loper (Psychology-Mental Health) - Checotah
Arleen Meadows (Political Science) - Tulsa
Vallerie Rice (Social Studies Education) - Tahlequah
Lisa Schuster (Criminal Justice) - Broken Arrow
Patrick Sledge (Sociology) - Tahlequah

Academic Achievement Award - Graduate. One student is selected in each graduate degree-granting discipline. Recipients must meet the following criteria: have been enrolled in the Graduate College within the past year; have satisfied all requirements for graduate candidacy; have completed a minimum of 24 semester hours toward the Masters Degree, 16 of which must be 500 level; will receive approval of the Capstone project (if the degree requires such a project); have maintained an overall grade-point average of 3.75 in all graduate work completed.

The following individuals have been selected as recipients for the 2003 Academic Achievement Award - Graduate.

Debra Cooper (Master of School Administration) - Broken Arrow
Jason Holt (Master of Business Administration) - Warner
Roland Hartmann (Masters of Arts in English)- Eufaula
Linda Havellana (Master of Arts in Communication)- Muskogee
David Miller (Master of Science in Industrial Management) - Broken Arrow
Cindi Michelle Dennis (Master of Education in Special Education-Speech Language Pathology) - Tahelquah
Tracie Goodspeed (Master of Education in Teaching) - Muskogee
Amy Johnson (Master of Science-College Teaching) - Bixby
Cynthia L. Lumpkin (Master of Education in Special Education) - Muskogee
Jennifer Simpson (Master of Education in Early Childhood) - Tulsa
Susan Standridge (Master of Library Media and Information Technology) - Okmulgee
Stephanie Shadwick (Master of Education in Reading) - Heavener
Charlene Duncan (Master of Education in School Counseling) - Muskogee
Alicia Irvin (Master of Counseling Psychology) - Muskogee
Norman Stephens (Master of Science-Criminal Justice) - Bixby


Go back to News Central