News Story

Twelve Members Initiated into Math Honor Society

TAHLEQUAH - Twelve new members were recently initiated into the Oklahoma Chapter of Kappa Mu Epsilon. Kappa Mu Epsilon is a national mathematics honor society that was founded in 1931 at Northeastern State University. It recognizes outstanding achievement in the study of mathematics at the undergraduate level. The organization has more than 129 chapters and approximately 61,000 members in 34 states.

NSU students inducted included: Bobbie Back, Salina; Carey Brashear, Braggs; Beatrice Drywater, Tahlequah; Ronald Green, Haskell; Billy Hulsey, Tulsa; Michael McMahan, Tulsa; Melissa Randell, Nowata; Jeri Sappington, Siloam Springs; Seana Smith, Muskogee; Megan White, Owasso; Lauren Woods, Claremore; Tetsuya Yamamoto, Coweta.

Sponsor for the Tahlequah chapter of Kappa Mu Epsilon is Dr. Joan E. Bell, professor of mathematics. Current officers of the chapter for 2005-2006 are: president - Josh Hamit; vice-president - Leticia Stone; secretary - Jeff Smith; treasurer - Andy Hathcoat.

NSU faculty attending the initiation were Dr. Bell; Dr. Larry Bell, associate professor of psychology; Dr. John Diamantopoulos, assistant professor of mathematics; Dr. Douglas Harrington, professor of physics; Dr. Darryl Linde, associate professor of mathematics; Mr. Max Ellis; and Mr. Luke Foster.


Go back to News Central