News Story

NSU to host Miss Northeastern Scholarship Pageant on Nov. 4

(Tahlequah, Okla.)-- The Miss Northeastern Scholarship Pageant, more commonly called “Miss NSU” around the Northeastern State University campus, will be held Nov. 4 at the NSU Center for Performing Arts in Tahlequah at 7 p.m.

This year’s 10 contestants are vying for the chance to represent NSU in several capacities, as well as receive assistance with tuition.

The winner receives a $1,600 tuition waiver, along with a $500 cash scholarship and will go on to compete for the Miss Oklahoma title, which is a preliminary to Miss America.

There are other tuition waivers and cash scholarships for runner-ups.

The newly crowned Miss NSU will also be an ambassador for the university by making appearances at local schools and campus events.

In fact, Miss NSU’s of the past have a history of visiting elementary schools in the Tahlequah area, focusing on reading.

As part of Miss NSU LaTasha Atcity’s platform in 2014, the Rowdy the RiverHawk Readers Program was created.

The campaign allowed Miss NSU and Rowdy to visit and read to third graders and get the students excited about reading by giving each student a book.

Miss NSU 2015 and outgoing winner Kaitlan Beasley described the past year of her life as “surreal.”

“Serving as Miss Northeastern has exposed me to many different people and traditions within our community. I was able to serve as an ambassador to Northeastern at many different events all while promoting my platform of voter registration.” 

Beasley used her position to show students the path to exercising their right to vote starts with registration. She partnered with Courtney Martin from the Office of Community Engagement to observe Voter Registration Day on campus.

“Together we registered people to vote, educated them on the importance of voting, and brought attention to a program called ‘TurboVote.’”

TurboVote is a service that NSU offers to all students and faculty, which provides voting materials directly to their mailbox.

Beasley’s advice for this year’s winner is to enjoy every second of the experience.

“Remember that you're not competing against the other women, you're competing against the woman you were yesterday. This is the ultimate opportunity to better yourself and make an impact on your community.” 

This year’s contestants are Alex Butcher, Ana Davis, Bailey Kennedy, Charity Pickup, Heather Balled, Kaitlan Thatcher, Katherine Nash, Shiann Hill, Skye MacLeod and Tori Evans.

Tickets are on sale at the cashier’s desk in the Administration Building in Tahlequah and can also be bought at the door on the night of the event.

They cost $10 for general admission and $5 for NSU students with I.D.

Published: 11/2/2015 2:31:04 PM

Go back to News Central