News Story

Nine Members Initiated into Kappa Mu Epsilon

Nine new members were recently initiated into the Oklahoma Chapter of Kappa Mu Epsilon. Kappa Mu Epsilon is a national mathematics honor society, founded in 1931 at NSU. It recognizes outstanding achievement in the study of mathematics at the undergraduate level. The organization has more than 129 chapters and approximately 61,000 members in 34 states.

NSU students initiated included: Darci K. Basset, Tulsa: Alecia A. Heiderscheit, Pryor; Stephanie D. Hilburn, Bristow; Charles Jamison, Sallisaw; Katherine A. McClure, Oklahoma City; Candace L. Redding, Broken Arrow; Amy M. Rose, Tahlequah; and Lori L. Treat, Muldrow. Also initiated was: Dr. Casey E. Mann, assistant professor of mathematics at NSU.

Sponsor for the Tahlequah chapter of Kappa Mu Epsilon is Dr. Joan E. Bell, professor of mathematics, NSU. Current officers of the chapter for 2001-2002 are: Gabriela Veith, president; Emily Walker, vice-president; Lara Lancaster, secretary; and Erin Renfrow, treasurer.

NSU faculty attending the initiation were Dr. Joan E. Bell, professor of mathematics; Dr. Larry Bell, associate professor of psychology; Mr. Norman Bryant, instructor of mathematics; Dr. Debra Carment, associate professor of accounting; Dr. Thomas Carment, professor of accounting; Dr. John Diamantopoulos, assistant professor of mathematics; Dr. Douglas Harrington, professor of physics; Dr. Darryl Linde, associate professor of mathematics; Dr. Casey Mann, assistant professor of mathematics; Dr. Julia Sawyer, assistant professor of mathematics; Mr. Charles Veith, assistant professor of library science; Dr. Wendell Wyatt, assistant professor of math education; and Dr. Herbert Monks, Emeritus professor of mathematics.  

Go back to News Central