News Story

NSU Students Honored at OIL Session

TAHLEQUAH – The Oklahoma Intercollegiate Legislature (OIL) chapter at Northeastern State University was recently honored at a mock legislative session held at the Oklahoma State Capitol.

The delegation representing NSU was awarded runner-up for best senate delegation. Ryan Alsup, Coweta senior, brought back second runner-up for best legislation and Ryan Connonie, Tahlequah senior, received second runner-up for best senate delegate. Ashley Heckathorn, Mannford junior, was named as a Supreme Court justice; Sarah Turner, Tahlequah senior, was the secretary of state; and Andrew Cole, Tulsa senior, represented the governor.

OIL hosts a five-day mock legislative session in the Oklahoma State Capitol once a semester with students from universities across the state. It also includes a court competition and model executive branch. Members are encouraged to write legislation to present at session, and over the course of the week, will trace many bills through the full legislative process, from committee hearings to floor time in both the OIL House and Senate ending with a signature from the governor of OIL. OIL is the largest and oldest intercollegiate organization in the U.S. It was created in 1969 by then Lt. Governor George Nigh.

Other students representing NSU were Olaf Standley, Tulsa senior, Heather Meledeo, Skiatook senior, Dale Denwalt, Tahlequah graduate, Dustin McGowen, Moore junior, Samantha McConnell, Hulbert junior, Dustin Woods, Alice Lawson, Tulsa junior, Melinda Carter, Hominy sophomore, Nathan Fultz, Jarrod Ridenour, Poteau junior, Stephen Rogers, Inola freshman, Brandy Spray, Stilwell junior, Bronson Vaughn, Locust Grove sophomore, and Joe Perez, Claremore senior.


Go back to News Central