News Story

Kappa Mu Epsilon Hosts Spring 2008 Initiation

TAHLEQUAH – The Oklahoma Alpha Chapter of Kappa Mu Epsilon (KME) at Northeastern State University inducted 15 students and one professor into the honor society at a special ceremony held Wednesday, March 5 in Tahlequah.

The new initiates of Kappa Mu Epsilon include:

  • · Angela Arnold, Gore
  • · Cody Boggs, Anchorage, Alaska
  • · Brandan Briscoe, Tahlequah
  • · Cristina N. Cooper, Okmulgee
  • · Kyle Elam, Miami
  • · Jennifer Johnson, Wagoner
  • · Aaron LaBounty, Warner
  • · Katie Needham, Checotah
  • · Katherine Rabe, Broken Arrow
  • · Michael Rex, Big Cabin
  • · Ryan Ridley, Ketchum
  • · Brian Riley, Tahlequah
  • · Robin Tilley, Park Hill
  • · Rustyn Van Deventer, Owasso
  • · Jory Wade, Tahlequah
  • · Dr. Martha Parrott, assistant professor of Mathematics, Broken Arrow

Representing the NSU faculty at the initiation were Dr. Joan E. Bell, Dr. Douglas Harrington, Dr. Wendell Wyatt, Dr. John Diamantopoulos, Dr. Larry Bell, Randy Snider, Max Ellis and Dan Sisk, along with emeriti faculty Dr. Mike Bolton and Dr. David Fitzgerald. Tahlequah City Councilor and NSU Alumnus Maurice Turney, a member of KME since 1945, was also in attendance.

Kappa Mu Epsilon is a national mathematics honor society, founded in 1931 at NSU. It recognizes outstanding achievement in the study of mathematics at the undergraduate level. The organization has 143 chapters and approximately 70,000 members in 35 states. Since 1931, 1,673 students and faculty members have been initiated into NSU’s Oklahoma Alpha chapter of KME.

Dr. Joan E. Bell, professor of Mathematics at NSU serves at the faculty sponsor for Kappa Mu Epsilon. Current officers of the chapter for 2007-2008 are President Caleb Knowlton, Stigler; Vice-president Ramona Medlin, Wagoner; Secretary Felicia Lotchleas, Bokoshe; and Treasurer Amanda Barker, Tahlequah.


Go back to News Central