News Story

Society of Professional Journalists honors NSU professor

Northeastern State University media studies professor Dr. Dana Eversole was selected as the 2019 Educator of the Year by the Oklahoma Professional Chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists.

The award was presented during the SPJ annual awards banquet May 18.

Eversole is department chair of the Communication and Media Studies Department and a freelance writer. She holds a bachelor’s in journalism education from NSU, a master’s in communication from Pittsburg State University and a doctorate from Oklahoma State University.

Eversole received the Lois A. Thomas Award of Distinguished Merit in Teaching from the Oklahoma Interscholastic Press Association, the Young Oklahoman Award from the Tulsa Jaycees, was honored as The Circle of Excellence in Service, and was named an original NSU Centurion.

"I was shocked when I received the phone call regarding the award. I knew nothing about it," said Eversole. "I want to thank SPJ for the honor and say I am proud to be an educator and a journalist."

Published: 6/17/2019 8:57:42 AM

Go back to News Central