News Story

NSU Students Receive Outstanding Senior Awards

TAHLEQUAH – Northeastern State University will present eight graduating seniors with Jack Kaufman Outstanding Senior Awards at a special ceremony on Friday, April 27 at 3 p.m. in the Birch Room of the University Center on the Tahlequah campus.

Considered a visionary by those who knew him, the late Jack Kaufman will go down in NSU history as one the institution’s most active and influential alumni. In recognition of his exceptional support of the university and its alumni association, the Jack Kaufman Outstanding Seniors Awards are given to deserving seniors each year who are nominated by NSU faculty and staff.

Recipients have a cumulative grade-point average of 3.25 or higher, have demonstrated their concern for Northeastern through campus involvement, and are considered all-around students who typify the spirit of NSU.

The 2007 Jack Kaufman Outstanding Seniors include:

Cody Brumley
Mass Communication

The son of Roger and Pamela Brumley, Cody is a member of the President’s Leadership Class, Lambda Chi Alpha fraternity, Baptist Collegiate Ministries and Northeastern Activities Board. He has served as a Redmen Ambassador and Freshman Peer Advisor, and worked at Rookie Bridge Camp. A Herb Rozell Scholar, Cody was named Mr. NSU in 2006 and Top Greek Male of the Year in 2005 and 2006. He has also received the Oklahoma Scholastic Media/OIPA Award of Excellence in Journalism and the Northeastern Student Government Association Student Achievement Award.

Cara Busson
Wadsworth, Ohio
Mass Communication – Broadcast Journalism

The daughter of Dennis and Mary Busson, Cara is a member of the Lady Red’s basketball team, Fellowship of Christian Athletes and St. Brigid’s Catholic Church. She also works at NSU’s student newspaper, The Northeastern. Cara was named numerous times to the Dean’s Honor Roll and President’s Honor Roll, along with receiving an All-Conference Honorable Mention and All-time NSU Season and Career Assists Leader. Cara also received the NSU Scholar Athlete Award.

Megan Eubanks

The daughter of Max and Martie Eubanks, Megan is a member of Student’s In Free Enterprise, President’s Leadership Class and Top of the Line Marketing Club. She has worked for Rookie Bridge Camp and served as a Redmen Ambassador. Named numerous times to the Dean’s Honor Roll, Megan is a member of Rho Theta Sigma Honor Society. She also received the Cherokee Nation Education Scholarship and the Adair County Strawberry Queen Scholarship.

Mark McElreath
Organismic Biology

The son of Mike and Linda McElreath, Mark is a member of the President’s Leadership Class, Rho Theta Sigma Honor Society, Pre-Professional Health Club, Alpha Epsilon Delta and Northeastern Student Government Association. Named numerous times to the President’s Honor Roll and Dean’s Honor Roll, Mark received the NSGA Committee Chair Award and was selected to serve on the Mascot Selection Task Force and Strategic Planning Committee.

Caleb Schoonover
Doctor of Optometry

The son of Wayne and Judy Schoonover, Caleb is a member of the American Optometric Student Association, Optometric Student Association, NSU 4-State Symposium and Beta Sigma Kappa National Honor Society. A member of the NSU Honor Society, Caleb has received the AOSA Trustee of the Year Award, Optometric Student Association Leadership Award and the Outstanding First Year Student Award.

Megan Stacey
Fort Gibson
Spanish Education

The daughter of Bill and Mary Stacey, Megan is a member of Campus Christian Fellowship, Social Dance Society, NSU Honors Program, Kappa Delta Pi Honor Society, Catholic Student Organization and GoVertigo Dance Team. A Baccalaureate Scholar, Megan has been named to the President’s Honor Roll.

Zach Stamile
Cellular Biology

The son of Peter and Rosa Stamile, Zach is a member of the President’s Leadership Class, Pre-Professional Health Club, Northeastern Activities Board, Lambda Chi Alpha fraternity, Northeastern Student Government Association, Northeastern State Biological Research, Boys & Girls Club of America, Alpha Chi Honor Society, Alpha Epsilon Delta Honor Society and Rho Theta Sigma Honor Society. Named one of the Top Five Greek Men at NSU, Zach also received the Lambda Chi Alpha Eight Founders Award. He was also named a Chickasaw Nation Scholar and Indian Health Services Scholar.

Breanna Walker
Cellular Biology

The daughter of Greg and Dian Walker, Breanna is a member of the President’s Leadership Class, Pre-Professional Health Club, Baptist Collegiate Ministries, Alpha Epsilon Delta Honor Society, American Indian Science and Engineering Society, Alpha Sigma Alpha Honor Society, Alpha Chi Honor Society, Rho Theta Sigma Honor Society and the Northeastern Activities Board. A Redmen Ambassador, Breanna was named to the President’s Honor Roll, Dean’s Honor Roll and the National Dean’s List. The recipient of the 2006 Honor Society Award, Breanna is a Herb Rozell Scholar, George Nigh Leadership Scholar, and O.J. Harvey Scholar.


Go back to News Central