News Story

Students Honored with Academic Achievement Awards at 39th Annual Honors Assembly

TAHLEQUAH – More than 300 awards were presented to deserving students during Northeastern State University’s 39th Annual Honors Assembly on Friday, April 27 at 7:30 p.m. in the Center for Performing Arts. Among the categories in which students were recognized are the Academic Achievement Awards - Undergraduate and Graduate.

Other awards included the Honor Society, Optometry Honor Society, Student Activities, and Who's Who Awards.


Academic Achievement Award - Undergraduate

One student is selected in each undergraduate degree granting discipline for the Academic Achievement Award. Each recipient must have completed two full semesters and have a grade-point average of at least 3.50 in the given academic discipline.

The following individuals were selected as recipients for the 2007 Academic Achievement Award - Undergraduate.

Business and Technology

Eric Alexander (Safety Management) – Cookson
Andrea Benge (Management Information) – Jay
Derek Cochran (Entrepreneurship) – Kansas
Bonnie Cookson (Financial Planning) – Tahlequah
Justin Dixon (Business Administration) – Morris
Katie Gillian (Marketing) – Lawton
Sara Gilmore (Accounting) – Tahlequah
Afsheen Hai (Finance) – Tulsa
Kendra Kennedy (Management) – Muskogee
Rachel Neely (Meetings and Destination Management) – Catoosa
Elizabeth Remmert (International Business) – Mounds
Barbara Townsend (Technology) – Tahlequah
Christine Walsh (Management – Human Resources) – Muskogee
Hiroko Yano (Environmental Management) – Tokyo, Japan


Scott Belcher (Health and Physical Education) – Tahlequah
Stephanie Byers (Developmental Psychology) – Glenpool
Jacob Epperson (Mental Health Psychology) – Muskogee
Dawn Harig (Mild-Moderate Disabilities) – Tulsa
Carol Hutchens (Psychology – Human Resources) – Muskogee
Brittany Reeves (General Psychology) – Tulsa
Risa Tanaka (Health and Human Performance) – Tahlequah
Heather Turk (Elementary Education) – Tahlequah
Stephanie Ward (Early Childhood Education) – Sand Springs

Liberal Arts

Tracey Allen (Criminal Justice) – Tulsa
Ashley Andrews (Criminal Justice – Paralegal) – Tulsa
Joshua Castleman (Geography) – Tulsa
April Coen (Art Education) – Braggs
Amber Cowan (Mass Communication – Public Relations) – Roland
James Davison (Social Studies Education) – Pryor
Ebony Dorsey (English Education) – Tulsa
Lauren Duncan (Speech Education) – Tulsa
Christine Duschel (Fine Arts) – Tahlequah
Mason Hacker (Spanish) – Okmulgee
Elizabeth Hensley (Graphic Design) – Smithville
Rumi Isozaki (Speech Communication – Communication Studies) – Niigata, Japan
Lynne Jones (Mass Communication – Advertising) – Tahlequah
Derek Latta (Political Science) – Sand Springs
Derek McGowen (Health Care Administration) – Moore
Patsy Moore (Social Work) – Muskogee
Melissa Moore (English) – Porter
Tracy Patterson (Music – Jazz Studies) – Tahlequah
Amy Sanders (Speech Communication – Organizational Leadership) – Muskogee
Lisa Sawney (American Indian Studies) – Stilwell
Bradley Spears (Music Education – Instrumental) – Coweta
Megan Stacey (Spanish Education) – Fort Gibson
Maria Tristan (Sociology) – Tahlequah
Sarah Turner (Mass Communication – Journalism) – Tahlequah
Dixie Weathers (Music Business) – Fort Gibson
Geoff Webb (Music Education – Vocal) – Tulsa
Vanessa Whitley (History) – Stilwell


Kyle Bennett (Vision Science) – Stilwell

Science and Health Professions

Timothy Berres (Mathematics Education) – Fort Gibson
Melissa Burleson (Biology – Organismic) – Muskogee
Mignon Cole (Science Education, Chemistry) – Hyde
Misty Crims (Nursing) – Poteau
Jennifer Giles-Fuentes (Environmental Science) – Tahlequah
David Green (Computer Science) – Muskogee
Caitlin Hasler (Medical Technology/Clinical Laboratory) – Fort Gibson
Lindsay Keeling (Mathematics) – Fort Gibson
DeeAnna Kelley (Speech/Language Pathology) – Sand Springs
Dustin Little (Chemistry) – Tahlequah
Gari Beth Maddux (Human and Family Science) – Hartshorne
Waylon Marler (Biology – Fish and Wildlife) – Henryetta
Christopher Rose (Engineering Physics) – Tahlequah
Areyell Scott (Human and Family Science) – Tulsa
Catherine Stallbories (Science Education, Biology) – Claremore
Zachart Stamile (Biology – Cellular) – Inola
Jennifer Surratt (Pre-Professional Health) – Tahlequah


Academic Achievement Award - Graduate

One student is selected in each graduate degree-granting discipline. Recipients must meet the following criteria: have been enrolled in the Graduate College within the past year; have satisfied all requirements for graduate candidacy; have completed a minimum of 24 semester hours toward the Masters Degree, 16 of which must be 500 level; will receive approval of the Capstone project (if the degree requires such a project); have maintained an overall grade-point average of 3.75 in all graduate work completed.

The following individuals have been selected as recipients for the 2007 Academic Achievement Award – Graduate.

Brandon Berryhill (Master of Science in Criminal Justice) – Broken Arrow
Amber Coyle (Master of Science in Collegiate Scholarship and Services) – Skiatook
Jana Elliott (Master of Arts in Communication) – Pryor
Geri Gilstrap (Master of Education in School Administration) – Stilwell
Donna Hardway (Master of Education in Mathematics Education) – Tulsa
Steve Hardy (Master of Education in Science Education) – Durant
Brittni Jernigan (Master of Science in Speech/Language Pathology) – Sapulpa
Delsa Johnson (Master of Science in Counseling Psychology) – Vinita
Marsha Martin (Master of Education in School Counseling) – Tulsa
Suzan Morang (Master of Science in Industrial Management) – Tahlequah
Kia Morgan (Master of Science in Health and Kinesiology) – Tahlequah
Rhonda Morris (Master of Education in Early Childhood) – Jenks
Tracy Nilsen (Master of Science in Library Media and Information Technology) – Pryor
Cathy Scott (Master of Arts in English) – Tulsa
Courtney Shelton (Master of Education in Reading) – Tulsa
Nick Thompson (Master of Business Administration) – Warner
Rodney Vermillion (Master of Accounting in Financial Analysis) – Tahlequah
Nicole Vincent (Doctor of Optometry) – Lawton
Cheryl Williams (Master of Education in Teaching) – Nowata
Morning Willis (Master of Arts in American Studies) – Siloam Springs, Ark.


Go back to News Central