News Story

Kappa Mu Epsilon Inducts 14 New Members

TAHLEQUAH – The Oklahoma Alpha chapter of Kappa Mu Epsilon at Northeastern State University inducted 14 new members at a special ceremony held Wednesday, March 7, in Tahlequah.

The new inductees include Amanda A. Barker, Tahlequah; Wendy J. Fehrenbach, Ness City, Kansas; Holly C. Floyd, Tahlequah; Rachel L. Keck, Muskogee; Caleb D. Knowlton, Stigler; Phyllis A. Magady, Muskogee; Ramona A. Medlin, Wagoner; Crystal Merritt, Tahlequah; Junel R. Miller, Broken Arrow; Steven Ostrander, Sallisaw; Sarah M. Owens, Adair; Renee P. Rabovsky, Tulsa; Jerry A. Smith, Tahlequah; and Amber R. Warren, Tulsa.

Kappa Mu Epsilon is a national mathematics honor society, founded in 1931 at NSU. It recognizes outstanding achievement in the study of mathematics at the undergraduate level. The organization has more than 129 chapters and approximately 61,000 members in 34 states.

Chapter President Lindsey Box, Vice President Bobbie Back, Secretary Seana Smith, and Treasurer Jeff Smith, along with the other members of Kappa Mu Epsilon hosted the ceremony. Representing the NSU faculty at the initiation were Dr. Joan E. Bell, Dr. Darryl Linde, Dr. Deborah Carment, Dr. John Diamantopoulos, Dr. Larry Bell, Dan Sisk, Randy Snider, and emeriti faculty Dr. David Fitzgerald.

To qualify for membership, students must complete three college math courses, including Calculus I, three college semesters, and maintain a B-average in all mathematics courses.

Kappa Mu Epsilon meetings are open to anyone interested in math. For more information, please call Dr. Joan E. Bell, professor of Mathematics, at 918-444-3810.


Go back to News Central