News Story

NSU robotics program to accept AACTE Technology Award

(Tahlequah, Oklahoma) - The American Association of Colleges for Teacher Education has announced the winner of the 2018 AACTE Best Practice Award for the Innovative Use of Technology is the Northeastern State University College of Education.

Representatives from the COE’s Robotics Academy of Critical Engagement program will receive the award March 3 during the closing keynote at the AACTE Annual Meeting in Baltimore, Maryland.

This award celebrates and recognizes the innovative use of educational technologies in a school, college, or department of education in ways that stretch beyond established practices to enable change in teacher education programs.

The RACE program, which grew out of a partnership between the Cherokee Nation and NSU, uses robotics to facilitate critical thinking and problem solving on the part of preservice candidates, in-service professionals and PK-12 students.

“We are so proud of the consistently high level of innovation that makes the RACE program an outstanding example of NSU’s overall commitment to immersive learning,” NSU President Dr. Steve Turner said. “Our campus-wide approach allows our graduates to be career ready in a variety of fields across the region.”

At the current time, with expansion of the program, teacher candidates have worked with over 3,000 Pk-12 students in classrooms, after school programs and on-site. They have mentored over 5,000 students in robotics competitions and taught close to 3,000 students in robotics summer camps.  In addition, the College of Education has hosted two state championships and collaborated with Cherokee Nation for the regional VEXPO robotics competition, with participation of over 5,000 statewide, nationally and internationally.

The AACTE Committee on Innovation and Technology commended NSU for its leadership in the preparation of preservice and in-service teachers and PK-12 students to fully utilize and integrate technology to achieve 21st-century learning.

“We are very honored to receive this prestigious award since AACTE is a leading voice nationally in teacher preparation, and they represent more than 800 postsecondary institutions with educator preparation programs,” Dr. Vanessa Anton, Interim Dean of the College of Education, said.

Published: 2/27/2018 12:43:47 PM

Go back to News Central