News Story

NSU celebrates exceptional faculty, staff

(Tahlequah, Oklahoma) -- Northeastern State University celebrated its employees during the Employee Recognition Program on April 27. The Rising STAR Award, STAR Award, Dr. Tiffany Maher Legacy Award, President’s Model the Way award, President’s Ambassadors Network and the Circle of Excellence were all presented during the program.

The Employee Recognition Program provides recognition opportunities for the many university contributions made by individuals who make a difference every day in the lives of students, staff, faculty and the community.

The Rising STAR Award celebrates an employee that has been in their current position between six months and two years and demonstrates devoted service, great attitude, teamwork and reliability. Haley Stocks, administrative secretary in the Department of Criminology, Justice Studies and Global Security, was this year’s Rising STAR. The STAR Award celebrates those same qualities in an employee that has completed two or more years of full-time service. Nathan Kuntz, assistant director of the Broken Arrow Physical Plant, was this year’s STAR.

The Dr. Tiffany Maher Legacy Award is a student-elected award that is presented to a faculty or staff member who leads in a positive manner and has a lasting impact on students at the university. Dr. Nathan Green, assistant professor of chemistry, was this year’s award recipient.

The President’s Model the Way award is presented to two faculty and two staff members who exemplify service above self, tireless effort to promote the mission of the university and a sense of community and collegiality among their fellow employees. The two faculty members celebrated were Dr. Susan Frusher, professor of educational leadership, and Dr. Kevin Wang, associate professor of biology. The two staff members celebrated were Dr. Teri Cochran, director of Student Financial Services, and Dr. Julie Sawyer, executive director of institutional effectiveness.

The President's Ambassadors Network is an initiative that was established by NSU President Steve Turner in 2013 to support professional development opportunities for NSU faculty and staff and discretionary projects. Faculty and staff were able to submit applications for a grant from the fund and were screened and selected by a committee made up of current recipients of Circle of Excellence, Model the Way and STAR Awards. Recipients awarded included Dr. Iain D. Anderson, Sara Jo Barnett, Dr. Samantha Benn-Duke, Dr. Tiffanie D. Hardbarger, Rachael Heister, Dr. Alexis B. Jones, Pattie A. Morton, Dr. Robyn N. Pursley, Shellie L. Scheu, Dr. Michael J. Shaughnessy Jr., Dr. Sarah Turner McGowen and Dr. Hsin- Sydney Yueh.

The Circle of Excellence Award honorees are Dr. Spence Pilcher, professor of chemistry, for teaching, Dr. Cindy Cisar, professor of natural sciences, for research and Dr. Robyn Pursley, chair of the Department of Art and Drama, for service.

For more information on the Employee Recognition Program, please visit

Published: 5/23/2017 12:17:26 PM

Go back to News Central