News Story

Five students to participate in Intercollegiate Honor Band

TAHLEQUAH, Okla. -- Five students from Northeastern State University have been selected for the 2013 Oklahoma Intercollegiate Honor Band (OIHB), which will perform in Tulsa as part of the Oklahoma Music Educators Association convention Jan. 16-18, 2013.
Representing NSU are Amanda Jesperson (Broken Arrow) and Sarah Thompson (Oologah) on flute, Stephanie Castor (Fort Gibson) on clarinet, Christopher Beard (Claremore) on alto saxophone and Jared Willis (Oologah) on trumpet.
Dr. Norman Wika, director of bands and assistant professor of music, said the OIHB is a chance for NSU students to interact with talented student musicians from other Oklahoma institutions of higher learning.
"The students who participate get the opportunity to sit in an ensemble that will challenge and inspire them," Wika said. "It also gives them the experience of working with a guest conductor from a major university program. This year's guest conductor is Dr. Sarah McKoin, director of bands at Texas Tech University."
The band performs on Jan. 17 at 2 p.m. in the International Ballroom at the Doubletree Hotel in Tulsa – Downtown, 616 W. Seventh St. The OMEA convention is at the Tulsa Convention Center, 100 Civic Center (West Seventh Street and South Houston Avenue).
Wika said the students chosen for honor band are outstanding representatives of the university.
"This honor band pulls together the finest college musicians from around the state of Oklahoma," he said. "To have a strong representation means that our music program is strong and healthy and inspiring a sense of excellence in our students."
The honor band usually includes less than 100 selected players. Students are chosen based on director recommendation. Selected students audition for placement within their respective sections.
Auditions are Jan. 16 at 1 p.m. The students then enter rehearsals from 3-5:30 p.m. and 7:30-10 p.m. on Jan. 16 and from 8:30-11:30 a.m. on Jan. 17.
Jesperson is a senior majoring in musical arts and Thompson is a freshman performance major. Both are students of Dr. Patricia Surman. Castor is a junior majoring in music education and instructed by Dr. Anne Watson. Beard is a student of Dr. Tommy Poole and a senior performance major. Wallis is a junior performance major and taught by Dr. Jason Dovel.
"The NSU music department congratulates these students on their achievements and this recognition of their hard work," Wika said.
For more information about the band program at NSU call Wika at 918-444-2706.

Published: 12/10/2012 10:48:42 AM

Go back to News Central