News Story

Kappa Mu Epsilon Initiates Eight Students


NSU students and faculty celebrate the induction of new members into Kappa Mu Epsilon.

NSU students and faculty celebrate the induction
of new members into Kappa Mu Epsilon.

TAHLEQUAH – The Oklahoma Alpha chapter of Kappa Mu Epsilon at Northeastern State University initiated eight new students at a ceremony held Wednesday, Oct. 11 in Tahlequah.

NSU students initiated into the honor society included Phillip D. Howell, Locust Grove, Evan Linde, Tahlequah, Dustin Little, Tahlequah, Felicia Lotchleas, Bokoshe, Rebecca Stockstill, Broken Arrow, Catherine Swanson, Tulsa, Carol Swigert, Tulsa, and Moria Yancy, Tahlequah.

Chapter President Lindsey Box, Vice President Bobbie Back, Secretary Seana Smith and Treasurer Jeff Smith, along with the other members of Kappa Mu Epsilon hosted a dinner to welcome the new initiates. Representing the NSU faculty at the initiation were Dr. Joan E. Bell, Dr. Darryl Linde, Dr. Douglas Harrington, Dr. Deborah Carment, Dr. John Diamantopoulos, Dr. Larry Bell, Max Ellis, Misty Megee, and emeriti faculty Dr. David Fitzgerald and Dr. Mike Bolton.

Kappa Mu Epsilon is a national mathematics honor society, founded in 1931 at NSU. It recognizes outstanding achievement in the study of mathematics at the undergraduate level. The organization has over 129 chapters and approximately 61,000 members in 34 states.

To qualify for membership, students must complete three college math courses, including Calculus I, three college semesters, and maintain a B-average in all mathematics courses.

Kappa Mu Epsilon meetings are open to anyone interested in math. For more information, contact Dr. Joan Bell, Professor of Mathematics, at (918) 456-5511 ext. 3810.


Go back to News Central