News Story

NSU selects 2016 Hall of Fame Inductees

Jacob Jones
Molly Bennett
Jocelyn Couch
Kaitlan Beasley
Speech and Debate Team- (back row, L-R) Gemini Creason, Anthony Woodall, Connor White, Brooke McClary. Front row: Dr. Kristopher Copeland, Kendrea James.

(Tahlequah, Okla.)-- Northeastern State University selected its 2016 Hall of Fame inductees and will celebrate them at the Ovation Awards Ceremony on April 9 at 10 a.m. in the University Center’s Sen. Herb Rozell Ballroom on the Tahlequah campus.

The Hall of Fame is an annual tradition that recognizes student groups or graduating seniors who have achievements resulting in state or national recognition or for outstanding, unique contributions to NSU.

Any member of the NSU community may nominate an individual or group for induction into the Hall of Fame. Nominated individuals and groups are then invited to complete a full application, which is reviewed by the Hall of Fame Selection Committee. The committee then makes recommendations to President Steve Turner for the year’s inductees.

The committee included De’Jon Jordan, coordinator of Diversity and Inclusion, Dr. Luke Foster, assistant professor of Mathematics and member of the NSU Hall of Fame, Jasmine Lang, university representative and recruiter and member of the NSU Hall of Fame, Dr. Teri Cochran, director of Student Financial Services.

The committee fully considered all nominations and then made the recommendations to President Turner, who approved the following NSU Hall of Fame inductees: Jacob Jones, Molly Bennett, Jocelyn Couch, Kaitlan Beasley, and the NSU Speech and Debate team.

Jones has been the Lambda Chi Alpha secretary, Lambda Chi Alpha external vice president, RiverHawks Ambassador, NAB Administration chair, Big Event Marketing chair, Rookie Bridge Camp volunteer, Big Event director and Herb Rozell Scholar. He has received many accolades including Presidents Honor Roll, Top Male Outstanding Freshman, Northeastern State Honors Program, Baccalaureate Scholarship Recipient, member of Order of Omega, and Non-Pell Eligible Tribal Award. Jones has also worked in the Office of Student Affairs as a graphic designer since 2013.

Bennett has had many leadership roles on campus including Big Event Co-Fundraising chair, NSU Dance Marathon founder and director, College Panhellenic Council president, Northeastern State Student Government Association College of Liberal Arts senator, Chi Theta chapter of Alpha Omicron Pi Fraternity New Member Educator and president, Rookie Bridge Camp volunteer, color group leader and emeritus, Student Homecoming Week Committee Parade chair, Office of Orientation and Leadership Orientation Guide and Peer Instructor. Bennett has received many awards and honors including NSU Homecoming Queen, Undergraduate Interfraternity Institute Graduate, National Education for Women’s Leadership Graduate, NSU Top Greek Woman of the Year, NSU Chapter President of the Year, NSU Top 5 Greek Woman of the Year, NSU True RiverHawk Award, and NSU Campus Involvement Award. Bennett is also involved in the community in many volunteer efforts, My Tahlequah Community clean up, Arthritis Foundation Tulsa Bone Bash Volunteer, Co-Director of Camp Juvenile Arthritis Matters, NSU Big Event, MLK Day of Service, and Jingle Bell Run participant and volunteer.

Couch has been involved in NSU Honors Program as the treasurer, Fundraising Committee Chair, president and Advisory council board. She’s also a member of the Pho Theta Sigma Honors Society and a member of the Pre-Professional Health club, participated in the NSU Baptist Collegiate Ministry as a member of the Missions Team, Co-ed Volleyball Team, and the girls’ basketball team. Couch also is a volunteer and has helped with Rookie Bridge Camp, NSU Riverhawk Rally, Honors Freshmen Enrollment, Big Event, Martin Luther King Jr. Day of Service, a medical mission trip to Haiti, research with Dr. Kyeorda Kemp, and BCM Community Missions like Cystic Fibrosis Walk, 9/11 Day of Service, Christmas Boxes, Oklahoma City Food Bank, Oklahoma Baptist Boys Ranch Town, and Tahlequah Heritage School Library.

Beasley has been involved in leadership and the NSU community through Miss Northeastern State University 2015, Co-Founder of Student Philanthropy Council, director of Registration and Recruitment for Rookie Bridge Camp, and president of the President’s Leadership Class. Beasley has been a student worker in the Office of Alumni and Development for NSU since 2013.

The 2015-2016 NSU Speech and Debate team has won many team awards at several events. They have competed within the state and region during this season against teams from Texas, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Arkansas, Kentucky, Kansas, Mississippi, Louisiana, and Arkansas. The team has made unprecedented success at competitions winning over 100 awards. Awards are many, but to name just a few there are first place awards in Communication Analysis, Program of Oral Interpretation, Poetry, After Dinner Speaking, and many more.

For more information, please contact Dr. Kelly Jo M. Larsen, director of Student Activities, at 918-444-2527 or

Published: 4/8/2016 10:30:04 AM

Go back to News Central