News Story

Northeastern Honors Faculty with Circle of Excellence Awards

"Circle TAHLEQUAH, OK – Northeastern State University recently presented the 2005-2006 Circle of Excellence Awards to Dr. David Pan, Dr. Wesley DeRosier, and Dr. Martha Parrott. The Circle of Excellence awards recognize outstanding faculty and reward them for their hard work in the areas of research, service and teaching. This year, the faculty members were chosen by colleagues from a field of 13 candidates.

“Dr. Pan, Dr. DeRosier, and Dr. Parrott are truly outstanding faculty members,” said Dr. Larry Williams, NSU President. “Their dedication to the student body and to the service of this University is exemplary. I’ve often said that Northeastern has the best faculty in Oklahoma and these individuals represent the reason this is true.”

Each recipient will receive a brick to be placed in the Circle of Excellence, located in front of Seminary Hall. In addition to securing a permanent place in NSU history, recipients will receive a substantial award for their selection (their choice of a new computer or $2,500 to use toward professional development).

Dr. David Pan – Research. Dr. David Pan, assistant professor of Marketing, is an accomplished writer/publisher, researcher and presenter at the local, national and international level. He has established a research and scholarly agenda primarily focusing on sports marketing, international business, marketing education, and legal issues of national or international importance. He has demonstrated extraordinary research productivity in his three years at NSU.

Dr. Wes DeRosier - Service. Dr. Wes DeRosier, associate professor of Optometry, contributes his time and talents to the institution and the community. The quality of life of many people have been improved through his service activities such as Oklahoma Special Olympics, Christian mission trips, and vision care to Hurricane Katrina victims at Camp Gruber. For these service activities, Dr. DeRosier and his wife were named the Oklahoma Young Optometrists of the Year for 2004-05.

Dr. Martha Parrott – Teaching. Dr. Martha Parrott, assistant professor of Mathematics, has a passion for preparing mathematics teachers who will serve the next generation of public school students. As a teacher and scholar, she readily shares her knowledge and expertise with colleagues at the local, state, regional, and national levels. Dr. Parrott also serves as the university Campus Compact - Service Learning contact person to the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education.


Go back to News Central