News Story

Students Honored with Academic Achievement Awards at 38th Annual Honors Assembly

TAHLEQUAH – More than 240 deserving students will receive awards during Northeastern State University's 38th Annual Honors Assembly on April 28 at 7:30 p.m. in the Center for Performing Arts. Among the categories in which students will be recognized are the Academic Achievement Awards - Undergraduate and Graduate.

Academic Achievement Award - Undergraduate. One student is selected in each undergraduate degree granting discipline for the Academic Achievement Award. Each recipient must have completed two full semesters and have a grade-point average of at least 3.50 in the given academic discipline.

The following individuals were selected as recipients for the 2006 Academic Achievement Award - Undergraduate.

Liberal Arts:
Micah Brooks (Graphic Design) – Sallisaw
Bonnie Brown (Native American Studies) – Tahlequah
Emily Bushyhead (Political Science—Public Administration) – Arkansas City
Joshua Chambers (Fine Arts) – Broken Arrow
Ai Fujino (Applied Music) – Catoosa
Natalie Fullbright (Political Science) – Sallisaw
Bryan Harding (History) – Muskogee
Lola Houhcins (Sociology) – Muskogee
Rumi Isozaki (Speech—Communication Studies) – Niigata-ken
Aubree Johnson (Geography) – Hulbert
Lynne Jones (Mass Communication—Advertising) – Tahlequah
Kanae Kobayashi (Theatre) – Nagano
Nicole Neal (Social Work)
Jason Price (Speech—Organizational Leadership)
Michele Schmidt (Mass Communication—Public Relations) – Tahlequah
Amanda Stone (Mass Communication—Journalism) – Claremore
Dixie Weathers (Music—Business) – Checotah

Business and Technology:
April Burgess (International Business)
Philip Desy (Technology) – Tahlequah
Elizabeth Gann (Meetings and Destination Management) – Broken Arrow
Melinda Goodnight (Business Administration) – Braggs
Stacey Hughes (Financial Planning)
Tomomi Nakagawa (Marketing)
Nobuo Nakajima (Entrepreneurship)
Kenji Ohmuro (Computer Science)
Kimberly Powell (Finance)
Donald Sims (Family and Consumer Science)
Kristi Swanson (Management) – Webbers Falls
Justin Vann (Health Care Administration) – Welling

Patricia Hertz (Early Childhood Education)
Kaylee Leston (Art Education) – Tulsa
Rita McKinney (Elementary Education)
Bradley Spears (Music Education) – Coweta
Catherine Stallbories (Science Education Biology Emphasis)
Carrie Vick (Social Studies Education) – Ft. Gibson
Mignon Winters (Science Education Chemistry Emphasis) – Bixby
Tetsuya Yamamoto (Mathematics education) – Tahlequah 
Dustin Carder (General Psychology) – Sand Springs
Jacob Epperson (Psychology—Mental Health) – Muskogee
Kathryn Wills (Developmental Psychology) – Tahlequah

Science and Health Professions:
Dustin Beck (Organismic Biology – Wagoner
Lisa Bracken (Health and Kinesiology) – Wagoner
Megan Buford (Pre-Professional Health) – Hulbert
Candice Carey (Medical Technology/Clinical Laboratory
Ezra Cole (Physics) – Tahlequah
Brett Cooper (Biology—Fish and Wildlife)
Wendy Detherage Lee (Family and Consumer Science—Dietetics) – Broken Arrow
Ashley Frazier (Family and Consumer Science)
Sean Garrison (Environmental Management) – Gore
Terry Grayson (Health and Physical Education) – Sand Springs
Sarah Hurley (Mathematics) – Mounds
Brittany Lee (Engineering Physics) – Muskogee
Jason Morse (Safety Management) – Sallisaw
Kristen Oller (Speech and Language Pathology) – Red Oak
Rachel Pittman (Health and Human Performance) – Holcomb
Kristi Spaethe (Human Resources Development (Psychology)) – Tulsa
Sheri Trammel (Nursing) – Park Hill
Dakota Vaught (Chemistry) – Wagoner
Bradford Williams (Biology—Cellular) – Skiatook

Chad Moore (Doctor of Optometry) – Lamar

Academic Achievement Award - Graduate. One student is selected in each graduate degree-granting discipline. Recipients must meet the following criteria: have been enrolled in the Graduate College within the past year; have satisfied all requirements for graduate candidacy; have completed a minimum of 24 semester hours toward the Masters Degree, 16 of which must be 500 level; will receive approval of the Capstone project (if the degree requires such a project); have maintained an overall grade-point average of 3.75 in all graduate work completed.

The following individuals have been selected as recipients for the 2004 Academic Achievement Award – Graduate.

Sandra Dossett (M.S. Collegiate Scholarship and Services) – Bartlesville
Cara English (Master of Library Media and Information Technology) – Broken Arrow
Linda Goeller (Master of Education in Mathematics Education) – Park Hill
Barbara Graff (Master of Education in Reading)
Christy Grissom (Master of Science in Speech and Language) – Tulsa
Cynthia Hackathorn (Master of Science in Counseling Psychology) – Owasso
Erin Jones (Master of Education in School Administration
Teresa Kincannon (Master of Education in Science Education) – Tulsa
TeNona Khun (Master of Education in Teaching) – Miami
Deborah Miller (Master if Education in School Counseling) – Tulsa
Susan Morang (Master of Science in Industrial Management) – Joplin
Therena Morris (Master of Education in Early Childhood) – Claremore
Cassie Sowers (Master of Arts in Communication


Go back to News Central